Search :  


Richard E. Tremblay Named Personality of the Week

30 Years of Research Demonstrate the Need to Invest in Early Years and During Pregnancy.

MONTREAL (QUEBEC), DECEMBER 17, 2008 – After receiving honours in France and Chile, La Presse and Radio-Canada have named Richard E. Tremblay “Personality of the Week.” Mr. Tremblay was presented with this award on Sunday for his contributions over more than 30 years to the physical, social and emotional development of children.

Mr. Tremblay’s work on aggression and the prevention of violence has been translated into several languages and serves as a foundation for policies on early childhood from around the world. Mr. Tremblay's research shows that early childhood sets the stage for personal development, learning, health and well-being. We must begin investing from conception onwards to permit optimal development and prevent violence.

On November 17, 2008, Richard E. Tremblay received the René-Joseph Laufer Prize from France’s Academy of Ethics and Political Science for his book Prévenir la violence dès la petite enfance [Preventing Violence in Early Childhood], published by Odile Jacob. On November 4, in Santiago, President Michèle Bachelet of Chile made Tremblay a Grand Officer of the Gabriela Mistral Order of Merit for his contribution to the development of policies on and the dissemination of knowledge about early childhood.

Richard E. Tremblay is a Professor in the Departments of Paediatrics, Psychiatry and Psychology at the Université de Montréal and a Researcher at the CHU Sainte-Justine. A member of the Royal Society of Canada, he heads Centre of Excellence for Early Childhood Development (CEECD), the Early Childhood Learning Knowledge Centre (ECLKC), and the Research unit on children’s psychosocial maladjustment (GRIP) at the Université de Montréal.


- 30 -


Information:  Gabrielle Collu
                      Centre of Excellence for Early Childhood Development         
                      514-844-7338 | 514-943-6557 | collug@videotron.ca





Return to home page | Comments | Search

[Last update: 30/04/2018]

Recherche :  


Richard E. Tremblay est nommé Personnalité de la semaine

Trente années de recherche auprès des enfants confirment l’importance d’investir dès la grossesse.

MONTRÉAL (QUÉBEC), le 17 DÉCEMBRE 2008 – Après avoir été honoré en France et au Chili, Richard E. Tremblay est nommé Personnalité de la semaine de La Presse et de Radio-Canada. Cette récompense lui a été décernée dimanche pour sa contribution, depuis plus de 30 ans, au développement physique, social, et affectif des enfants.

Les travaux de M. Tremblay sur l’agressivité et la prévention de la violence sont traduits dans plusieurs langues et inspirent l’établissement de politiques sur la petite enfance à travers le monde. Pour M. Tremblay, l’expérience de la petite enfance constitue le fondement du développement, de l’apprentissage, de la santé et du bien-être d’un individu. Pour permettre le développement optimal et prévenir la violence, il faut investir dès la petite enfance, et même dès la grossesse.

Richard E. Tremblay a reçu, le 17 novembre 2008, le prix René-Joseph Laufer de l’Académie des sciences morales et politiques de France pour son livre Prévenir la violence dès la petite enfance, publié par les Éditions Odile Jacob. De plus, le 4 novembre dernier, à Santiago, au Chili, la présidente du Chili Michèle Bachelet a conféré à M. Tremblay le titre de grand officier de l’Ordre du mérite Gabriela Mistral pour sa contribution au développement de politiques sur la petite enfance et à la diffusion de connaissances sur la petite enfance.

Richard E. Tremblay est professeur aux départements de pédiatrie, de psychiatrie et de psychologie de l’Université de Montréal et chercheur au CHU Sainte-Justine. Membre de la Société royale du Canada, il dirige le Centre d’excellence pour le développement des jeunes enfants (CEDJE), le Centre du savoir pour l’apprentissage chez les jeunes enfants (CSAJE) et le Groupe de recherche sur l’inadaptation psychosociale chez l’enfant (GRIP) à l’Université de Montréal.


- 30 -


Renseignements :  Gabrielle Collu
                               Centre d’excellence pour le développement des jeunes enfants
                               514 844-7338 | 514 943-6557 | collug@videotron.ca





Retour à la page d'accueil | Commentaires | Recherche

[Dernière mise à jour: 30/04/2018]